Home › College Planning

College planning for Atlanta families

Pay for your kids' education without draining your retirement. Here are the real numbers, the Georgia programs that help, and how a 529 and an IUL can work together.

What college really costs in 2026

One yearTuition & feesFull budget*
Public 4-year, in-state$11,950$30,990
Public 4-year, out-of-state$31,880$50,920
Private nonprofit 4-year$45,000$65,470
University of Georgia (in-state, 2026–27)$11,628$29,920

*Includes housing, food, books, transportation and personal costs. Sources: College Board, Trends in College Pricing 2025; UGA Office of Student Financial Aid, 2026–27.

If costs keep rising about 3% a year, four years at UGA for a child who is 2 today could cost about $200,900. A private college could cost about $439,500.

Start with the free money in Georgia

  • HOPE Scholarship: 3.0 high school GPA. Covers most tuition at Georgia public colleges.
  • Zell Miller Scholarship: 3.7 GPA plus SAT 1200 or ACT 25. Covers full standard tuition.
  • Path2College 529: Georgia state tax deduction up to $8,000/yr per child (joint filers) or $4,000 (single).
  • FAFSA: file every year as soon as it opens in the fall.

Confirm current scholarship rules at GAfutures.org.

529 plan vs. IUL: where should college money grow?

529 planIUL (life insurance)
GrowthMarket-based, can go downLinked to an index, up to a cap
Market dropsValue can fall0% floor on index credits (policy charges still apply)
TaxesTax-free for qualified education; GA deductionTax-deferred growth; potentially tax-free policy loans
FAFSACounted, up to 5.64%Not reported
If child skips collegeTax + 10% penalty on earnings (some exceptions)Use for anything, including retirement
Protects your familyNoYes, death benefit
CostsLow fund feesInsurance charges, highest in early years
Many families use both. The 529 handles tuition. The IUL protects the family, adds flexibility, and keeps building toward retirement.

The cost of waiting

Same $400 a month at a hypothetical 6%: starting at age 2 grows to $129,079 by 18. Starting at age 12 grows to $34,736. Time does most of the work.

Hypothetical fixed 6% annual rate compounded monthly, for illustration only. Does not reflect policy charges, fees or loan interest. Actual results will vary.

Questions parents ask

How much should I save each month for college?

It depends on your child's age and your goal. In our hypothetical 6% example, starting when a child is 2, about $400/month covers four years of public in-state tuition and fees, and about $575/month covers the full projected cost of UGA including housing. Your real numbers depend on the plan you choose.

Can I use an IUL to pay for college?

Yes. Families build cash value over 10+ years, then use policy loans to help pay for school. Policy loans reduce cash value and death benefit and accrue interest, so the policy has to be designed and funded correctly.

Does life insurance cash value affect financial aid?

Cash value of life insurance is not reported as an asset on the FAFSA. Parent-owned 529 plans are counted, at up to 5.64%. Aid rules can change, and some private colleges ask about assets differently on the CSS Profile.

What Georgia programs help pay for college?

The HOPE Scholarship (3.0 GPA) and Zell Miller Scholarship (3.7 GPA plus SAT 1200 or ACT 25) cover much or all of tuition at Georgia public colleges. Georgia's Path2College 529 offers a state tax deduction of up to $8,000 per child per year for joint filers.

See what this looks like for your family

A free 20-minute call is the easiest way to start. English or Vietnamese.

Book a Free Call

or call (470) 470-5593

College planning, retirement income & life insurance for Georgia families.

Norcross, GA · Serving Atlanta & all of Georgia
(470) 470-5593

Tai Nguyen, Georgia Licensed Life Insurance Agent, License #3784707, NPN 21496686. Retire With Tai provides insurance products and educational information. Indexed Universal Life (IUL) is a life insurance product, not an investment or a security, and does not directly participate in any stock or equity investments. Policy loans and withdrawals reduce cash value and death benefit, accrue interest, and may cause the policy to lapse; if a policy lapses with an outstanding loan, taxes may be due. Index caps, floors and participation rates vary by carrier and product. Guarantees are based on the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer. Examples are hypothetical and for illustration only. This website does not provide tax, legal or financial-aid advice. Carrier names are used for identification only; products and availability vary by state.
© 2026 Retire With Tai. All rights reserved.